Am I just too stupid for Leetcode?

General Rules

• This Forum Rules:
    1. No asking for course requests or download links.
    2. Don't share links to other websites for downloads or references.
    3. Avoid controversial topics in discussions.

4. Use an appropriate thread title that matches your content, not just a word.

Other Forum Rules Can Be Found Here

flamingass

TutFlixer
Jan 13, 2021
localghost
Lately after my day job I have been preparing for interviews(scheduled 45 days now) a. Completed a basic DSA course in a week. So now I have been spending time 3-4 hours after work on preparing for Leetcode interview questions and System Design.

My God do I feel stupid not being able to solve even the 'Easy' questions! Often I get stuck for 20 minutes or so and then end up looking at solutions.

For background -> I have been working for a little over 2 years in SAAS backend. Decent at my job. While I know that acing Leetcode is not a true representative of your developer capabilities, it is unfortunately a required skill if you have to crack high paying development jobs(especially in Product based companies).

I have a few questions for those who are good at solving Leetcode questions or have been practicing there for a while and have now developed intuition. Felt this might also be useful for other folks who are in Leetcode grind.
  • Is there a list of MUST-DO and ALMOST-BY-HEART questions I should target first?
  • Any kind of notes that people have compiled after solving questions. Like notes with patterns/techniques noticed that can be used on multiple questions with minor tweaks?
  • Any other suggestions/tips/pointers that should ideally be addressed in my attack plan for next ~40 days? I'll try to strategize based on your recommendations.

imml97

TutFlixer
Sep 22, 2020
India
Hi,